Arthur Ross Media Award

Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis on Foreign Affairs


The Arthur Ross Media Awards are presented annually to journalists who have produced the most compelling and insightful pieces concerning American diplomacy. It is given in honor of (and endowed by) the late Arthur Ross.

Criteria for Selection

Two awards will be given, honoring individuals (or groups of individuals — e.g., a news bureau) whose reporting and analysis on diplomacy and foreign affairs is making a singular contribution to public understanding of the critical role played by diplomacy in the furtherance of America’s foreign policy interests.

The recipients will be in two categories: a) a reporter (print or electronic); and b) a columnist, editorial writer, cartoonist, or commentator (print or electronic) – in both cases whose work represents a singular contribution to public understanding of foreign affairs.

Nominees must be U.S. citizens who work/reside anywhere, either in the United States or abroad.

While the above are the formal criteria, the Academy is particularly looking for nominees who have not yet been honored with other major journalism awards and who are “on the way up;” this includes individuals from any part of the US or on assignment abroad (including conflict zones.)


Nominations must be submitted by 11:59PM EDT on Thursday, September 10, 2020 via email to both and


Nominations will be reviewed and recommendations made by the American Academy of Diplomacy Media Award committee; the American Academy of Diplomacy President also serves as a non-voting, ex-officio member.

Additional details about the 2020 call for entries can be found here: 2020 Arthur Ross Media Award.


History of Arthur Ross Media Award Recipients

To access an extended list of previous award winners, click here.


Robert Hunter (right), chair of the Media Award Committee, presents the 2017 Arthur Ross Media Award to Jonathan Landay (left) during the Annual Luncheon

Arthur Ross

The Academy’s Ross Media Awards are given in honor of the late Arthur Ross and endowed by the Ross Foundation.



Rana Foroohar


Recipient of the 2019 Arthur Ross Media Award in the Commentator category


Rana Foroohar is Global Business Columnist and an Associate Editor at the Financial Times. She is also CNN’s global economic analyst.
Her book, Makers and Takers: The Rise of Finance and the Fall of American Business (Crown), about why the capital markets no longer support business, was shortlisted for the Financial Times McKinsey Book of the Year award in 2016. Her most recent book Don’t Be Evil: How Big Tech Betrayed Its Founding Principles And All of Us was published by Crown in the fall of 2019.
In 2019, Foroohar was awarded a SABEW award for her tech and policy coverage at the Financial Times. Prior to joining the FT and CNN, Foroohar spent 6 years at TIME, as an assistant managing editor and economic columnist. She previously spent 13 years at Newsweek, as an economic and foreign affairs editor and a foreign correspondent covering Europe and the Middle East. During that time, she was awarded the German Marshall Fund’s Peter Weitz Prize for transatlantic reporting. She has also received awards and fellowships from institutions such as the Johns Hopkins School of International Affairs and the East West Center. She is a life member of the Council on Foreign Relations and sits on the advisory board of the Open Markets Institute.
Rana Foroohar graduated in 1992 from Barnard College, Columbia University. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, the author John Sedgwick, and her two children.


Matt Lee


Recipient of the 2019 Arthur Ross Media Award in the Reporting category

Matthew Lee is the Diplomatic Writer for The Associated Press, covering the State Department and U.S. foreign policy since 1999. He has traveled with every secretary of state since Madeleine Albright, reporting from more than 120 countries on America’s evolving international interests and priorities. Lee joined the AP in 2007 after 12 years with the French news agency AFP where he covered the State Department, served as the Kenya-based deputy bureau chief for East Africa and bureau chief in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

A native of Buffalo, New York, he graduated from Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service in 1989 and began his journalism career as a news aide/copy boy at The Washington Post and as a reporter covering local politics at the Daily Progress in Charlottesville, Va.