top of page

2023 Awards Luncheon

Ambassador Victoria Nuland, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs and The American Academy of Diplomacy hosted the 2023 Annual Awards Luncheon.

The Awards

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award
for exemplary contributions to the field of American Diplomacy to:


Ambassador Marie "Masha" Yovanovitch

Written Remarks

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development to:

Dr. M. Peter McPherson

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development Special Recognition to:

U.S. Government Locally Employed Staff in Afghanistan

The Douglas Dillon Book Award
for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to

Our Man In Tokyo: An American Ambassador and the Countdown to Pearl Harbor

Steve Kemper

The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis of Foreign Affairs:

Recipient in the Reporting Category

Michele Keleman


Recipient in the Commentator Category

Thomas L. Friedman

The New York Times

bottom of page