2012 Awards Luncheon

aad logo

William J. Burns, Deputy Secretary of State


The American Academy of Diplomacy 


the 2012 Annual Awards Luncheon


U.S. Department of State
The Benjamin Franklin Room
Monday, November 19, 2012



Academy members and distinguished guests gathered for a luncheon presentation of:

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award
for Excellence in Diplomacy to:


with special remarks by Senator Lugar 



The Douglas Dillon Award
for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to:
China Hand: An Autobiography
by John Paton Davies, Jr.



The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis of Foreign Affairs:
The Washington Post
Reporting Category
The Atlantic
Commentator/Editorial Category