2013 Awards Luncheon









Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns
The American Academy of Diplomacy
present the Academy’s
2013 Annual Awards Luncheon


U.S. Department of State
The Benjamin Franklin Room
Thursday, December 5, 2013


Academy members and distinguished guests gathered on December 5, 2013 for a luncheon presentation of:

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award for Excellence in Diplomacy to:


Secretary George P. Shultz
Secretary of State

accepted by Chester Crocker on his behalf


The Douglas Dillon Award for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to:

All the Great Prizes: The Life of John Hay, from Lincoln to Roosevelt

by John Taliaferro, published by Simon & Schuster



The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis of Foreign Affairs:

Judy Woodruff, PBS News
Reporting Category

Doyle McManus, Los Angeles Times
Commentator/Editorial Category