2016 Awards Luncheon

aad logoStateLogoClearThe Honorable Thomas Shannon,
Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs


The American Academy of Diplomacy 


the 2016 Annual Awards Luncheon

US State Department
Benjamin Franklin Room
Wednesday, November 30, 2016


Academy members and distinguished guests gathered on
November 30, 2016 for a luncheon presentation of:

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award
for Excellence in Diplomacy to:

Robert ZoellickThe Honorable Robert B. Zoellick
Former World Bank Group President
& U.S. Trade Representative

Access the Remarks by Robert Zoellick here


The Douglas Dillon Award
for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to:

Jimmy Carter in AfricaJimmy Carter in Africa by Nancy Mitchell,
published by Stanford University Press
and the Woodrow Wilson Center Press 


The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting
and Analysis of Foreign Affairs to:

Jason RezaianThe Washington Post
Reporting Category
Jason Rezaian
Roy Gutmanfreelance writer
Columnist Category
Roy Gutman


Special Mention to:


Wednesday, November 30, 2016
11:30 a.m. – Reception
12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. – Luncheon/Awards Ceremony
The Benjamin Franklin Room (8th floor)
U.S. Department of State
Washington, D.C.

Guests are asked to arrive at the State Department visitor entrance (22nd and C Streets) and to allow 15 minutes for security screening.


2016 Awards Luncheon Press release