top of page

Press Release | The Academy’s 2023 Ross Media Award Winners Announced

Sep 29, 2023

AAD Staff

Washington, D.C. – Each year, the American Academy of Diplomacy honors one outstanding reporter and one distinguished commentator with its Arthur Ross Media Awards for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis on Foreign Affairs. This year, the Academy is recognizing two individuals who have dedicated their entire careers and made outstanding contributions to the coverage of diplomacy and foreign affairs. The 2023 Ross Media Awards go to:

Michele Kelemen

Diplomacy and Foreign Desk Correspondent,


Thomas L. Friedman

“Foreign Affairs” Columnist,

The New York Times

With these awards, the Academy seeks to recognize the indispensable role that quality journalism from various types of media outlets (print, broadcast, or online) plays in presenting facts and analysis from around the world to American audiences, and thus spurring informed actions by policymakers and private citizens alike.

The Ross Media Awards are given in honor of the late Arthur Ross and are endowed by the Ross Foundation. The awards seek to recognize individuals or groups of individuals (e.g., a news bureau) whose reporting and analysis on diplomacy and foreign affairs is making a singular contribution to public understanding of the critical roles played by diplomacy and the media in the furtherance of America’s foreign policy interests. The 2023 Ross Award winners will formally receive their awards at the Academy’s Annual Awards Luncheon at the State Department on November 9, 2023.

END ###

Download PDF • 155KB

bottom of page