Walter and Leonore Annenberg Excellence in Diplomacy Award

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award for Excellence in Diplomacy is an annual award given by the American Academy of Diplomacy in recognition of an individual or group who has made exemplary contributions to the field of American diplomacy.

2022 Recipient

Thomas R. Pickering

U.S. Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, U.S. Ambassador and Representative to the United Nations, U.S. Ambassador to the Russian Federation, India, Israel, El Salvador, Nigeria, and the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

Douglas Dillon Book Award

The Douglas Dillon Book Award is presented annually to the author of the best book released that year on the practice of American diplomacy.

2022 Recipient

Michael Krepon

, Winning and Losing the Nuclear Peace: The Rise, Demise and Revival of Arms Control

Arthur Ross Media Award

The Arthur Ross Media Awards are presented annually to journalists who have produced the most compelling and insightful pieces concerning American diplomacy. It is given in honor of (and endowed by) the late Arthur Ross.

2022 Recipient

Yaroslav Trofimov

Reporter, The Wall Street Journal

2022 Recipient

Clarissa Ward

Reporter, CNN

2022 Recipient

The Kyiv Independent

Special Award

Philip Merrill Fellowship SAIS Essay Contest

The Philip Merrill Fellowship was awarded annually for the best essay on the practice of American diplomacy, from the early 2000s to 2013.

Leonard Marks Foundation Essay Contest

The Leonard Marks Foundation Essay Contest rewarded graduate students for the most creative writing on diplomacy and foreign policy, with special emphasis on Public Diplomacy, from 2005 to 2009.