top of page

Arthur Ross Recipient Criteria

2023 Ross Award Eligibility Criteria:

  • Nominees must be U.S. citizens who work/reside anywhere, either in the United States or abroad.

  • The work of the nominees must be making a singular contribution to public understanding of foreign affairs or the critical role played by diplomacy in the furtherance of America’s foreign policy interests.

  • Nominees can come from print or electronic publications.

  • Nominees can be in one of two categories: Reporter/Journalist category or Commentator category.

  • Nominees in the Commentator category can include columnists, editorial writers, cartoonists, or commentators.

Nominations will be reviewed, and recommendations made, by the AAD Media Award committee and then be formally approved by the full AAD Board of Directors.

The awards are usually presented at the Academy’s Annual Awards Luncheon ceremony in Washington D.C. in early November.

History of Arthur Ross Media Award Recipients

Annual Awards Luncheon
Arthur Ross Media Award

Robert Hunter (right), chair of the Media Award Committee, presents the 2017 Arthur Ross Media Award to Jonathan Landay (left) during the Annual Luncheon. 

The Academy’s Ross Media Awards are given in honor of the late Arthur Ross and endowed by the Ross Foundation.

bottom of page