top of page

2011 Awards Luncheon

William J. Burns, Deputy Secretary of State and The American Academy of Diplomacy hosted the 2011 Annual Awards Luncheon.

The Awards

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award
for exemplary contributions to the field of American Diplomacy to:


Dr. Robert M. Gates

Written Remarks

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development to:

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development Special Recognition to:

The Douglas Dillon Book Award
for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to

High Value Target: Countering Al Qaeda in Yemen

Edmund Hull

Dillon Award Special Citation

Eisenhower 1956: The President’s Year of Crisis — Suez and the Brink of War

David Nichols

The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis of Foreign Affairs:

Recipient in the Reporting Category

Borzou Daragahi,

Financial Times

Recipient in the Commentator Category

Sylvia Poggioli


bottom of page