top of page

2017 Awards Luncheon

The Honorable Thomas Shannon, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs and The American Academy of Diplomacy hosted the Academy’s 2017 Annual Awards Luncheon.

The Awards

The Walter and Leonore Annenberg Award
for exemplary contributions to the field of American Diplomacy to:


Dr. William J. Perry

Written Remarks

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development to:

The Henrietta Fore Award
for Excellence in Development Special Recognition to:

The Douglas Dillon Book Award
for a Book of Distinction on the Practice of American Diplomacy to

Foreign Service – Five Decades on the Frontlines of American Diplomacy

James F. Dobbins

The Arthur Ross Media Award
for Distinguished Reporting and Analysis of Foreign Affairs:

Recipient in the Reporting Category

Jonathan Landay


Recipient in the Commentator Category

Fareed Zakaria


bottom of page